12DollarComedyCourse.com presents a fun, entertaining, and potentially life-saving traffic safety education program designed and approved to earn an auto insurance discount, to clear a ticket/points from your record, or to serve as part of fleet driver training—all while learning great defensive driving techniques!
12DollarComedyCourse.com reads like a dream! It's entertaining, educational, and loaded with informative photos, colorful charts and illustrations, and streaming video clips. Our online Driver Improvement Program is easy to use, even if you're not a whiz on the Internet. So grab a soda and some snacks—you're sure to enjoy this course!
The most common reason drivers complete a driver improvement course is to keep a traffic citation ("ticket") and the associated points from appearing on their driving record.
Drivers may attend an 8-hour Driver Improvement Program (DIP) course to avoid point assessment against a Missouri driver's license for a moving violation. Drivers may attend to avoid point assessment no more than once every 36 months, and the course must be completed with 60 days of conviction. Commercially licensed drivers are not eligible to avoid point assessment.
(For violations committed while operating a motorcycle, the rider must attend an approved motorcycle-rider training course following the rules above to avoid point assessment.)
(If you are licensed by a state other than Missouri, attendance at the Driver Improvement Program in Missouri will not guarantee that your home state will not assess points or otherwise enter a moving violation on your record. You should check with your the authorities in your home state to determine what rules apply.)
The process for avoiding point assessment is simple, but it does depend on the county in which your citation was issued. While all citations are initially submitted to the Fine Collection Center (FCC), not all counties have pre-approved the FCC to allow DIP attendance to dismiss violation points. If your county allows attendance through the FCC (list of counties), follow the process outlined immediately below. If your county relies on court approval, follow the process for court-approved attendance.
Reducing Points from Your Driving Record Through the FCC
Some counties have authorized the Fine Collection Center (FCC) to approve Driver Improvement Program (DIP) attendance. If you received your citation in such a jurisdiction, follow this process:
- Admit guilt and pay your fine and costs
in full to the FCC.
You will automatically be approved to attend an authorized Driver Improvement Program course to avoid having points assessed on your Missouri driver's license.
- This program is not available for a violation committed in a commercial motor vehicle or for any driver who holds a commercial driver's license (CDL) from Missouri or any other state.
- No person may attend the Driver Improvement Program to avoid point assessment more than one time in any 36-month period.
- Enroll in and successfully complete
Remember that you must complete the course within 60 days of your guilty plea!
- Report your completion to the FCC.
To get credit for DIP attendance, your Certificate of Completion must be submitted to the FCC within 60 days of your guilty plea.
If you check your driving record after the FCC processes your course completion, you should see that no points have been assessed for your traffic violation.
Reducing Points from Your Driving Record Through Your Court
Courts in counties which have not authorized the Fine Collection Center (FCC) to approve Driver Improvement Program (DIP) attendance may allow drivers to avoid point assessment on a case by case basis. If you received your citation in such a jurisdiction, follow this process:
- Plead not guilty to the
The FCC will then send your citation to the prosecuting attorney in the county where the citation was issued. After the prosecutor files the citation with the court, the court will notify you of a court date.
- Attend your court date and plead
guilty to the court.
If you plead guilty at the court, the court has the authority, on a case by case basis, to allow you to attend a DIP course to avoid point assessment. Check with the court in the county where your ticket was issued to learn about local policies concerning DIP attendance.
- Enroll in and successfully complete
Remember that you must complete the course within the time allowance given by your judge!
- Report your completion to the court.
To get credit for DIP attendance, your Certificate of Completion must be submitted to the court within the time allowance given by your judge.
If you check your driving record after the court processes your course completion, you should see that no points have been assessed for your traffic violation.
Auto Insurance Discounts
Even if you haven't received a traffic citation, you might be eligible to lower your automobile insurance premiums! Many insurance providers reward policyholders who complete a traffic safety course with lower insurance rates. Defensive drivers are better, safer drivers and reduce the costs of coverage!
Before taking the course voluntarily, drivers should confirm with their insurance provider that the insurer offers this benefit. You might also ask how long the discount is good for and whether you can repeat the course to extend the benefit.
To claim your discount, simply complete the course and submit a Certificate of Completion directly to your insurance provider. Your agent will be able to tell you how long it will take for your insurer to process your course completion and when your discount will take effect. (Some providers will even apply your reduced rate retroactively!)
Driving safety programs can help businesses, government agencies, and non-profit groups to minimize risk exposure, reduce collisions, and slash related costs.
Our proven-effective online program uses current safe-driving and instructional best practices to guide employees/associates who need defensive driver training. This solution is designed for organizations to…
- minimize motor vehicle collisions
- reduce auto insurance costs
- reduce employer expenses related to:
- lost work days
- worker compensation claims resulting from vehicle crashes